Oops!

My apologies that it’s been so long since I posted. Yes, I survived the winter. I have a thriving garden and love the land I live on. Except for the bugs and the distance to cities, people, and activities. I hope to post soon with better updates. I don’t have internet at my little house, but hopefully I’ll be able to post more tomorrow night… perhaps including a few pictures.

 

In the meantime… if you’re considering a small/tiny house, make sure that if it has a metal roof, that the roof extends a foot or two past the walls or is regularly moved. Having a permanent location and no roof overhang has been probably my biggest regret, because when the roof sweats the walls and foundation are constantly damp, inviting many six-legged unwelcome ‘guests’. Roaches have been a huge battle this spring. I haven’t seen but a few in the house, but see several on the front porch every night. Time for Roach Prufe in vast quantities. (Yes, sorry that’s not very eco-friendly, but I can’t stand roaches, and since I’m not refrigerating most produce, I’m even more disgusted that they are so near.)

 

Other regrets? Not being closer to my job (I didn’t have a job when I bought the land) and lack of closet space. Drawers just don’t suffice for some things. I also wish the cabin were wider than 12 feet. If it were just a few feet wider, I could do much more with the space. And I finally retired the homemade couch in favor of three small chairs. They can be arranged more easily, still have storage space underneat, and are MUCH more comfortable.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on May 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. overhang, check…
    take care of the roaches, at any and all costs…

    when I begin to build my tiny house (on wheels), I will be sure to include that in my design ideas… I plan to design something a little different, since many tiny houses on wheels, end up looking like a Gypsy Vardo/Caravan, my idea will be a little different…
    I plan to use my tiny house as my residence, and a traveling vendor booth at Renaissance and Pirate Festivals around Oregon, Washington and possibly Northern California… my plan (if I can ever find someone that will help me draw up my ideas) is to have what looks like part of the back end of a pirate ship that snapped off, and ran aground… the trailer wheels will be covered by wine barrels, the “tongue” of the trailer will be removable, or fold upwards, and made to look like the mast of the ship snapped off… windows will be portholes, except with some length to look more like cannons…
    I will find some way to get my idea out of my head, and into 3D concept sooner or later…

    • One of the problems with small houses on wheels is there isn’t much way to do an overhang, but I think you could do an overhang that was either removable or could slide or fold up on to the roof when traveling. Your plan sounds very creative-I’d like to see pictures when you finish!

      • hi, Mary!

        saw your info on the tiny house map, and hope that you’re doing well! you mentioned that your commute is a bit lengthy, and i was wondering if you’re commuting to the STL area from Troy? planning on reading your posts and looking forward to discovering about your journey en route to little house ownership!

        Polly in STL

      • My commute is only 10 miles. I’d just rather be in walking/biking distance.

  2. Hi Mary,
    Just wondering if you’ll post pictures. I’m having a hard time finding posts with pictures. I’d love to see your tiny home!

  3. me and my fiance really want to build my own tiny house, i am also under a little crit. from my mom. i am also curious to see photos! hope everything works out in the end! we are still looking for land to build, or small place to live in. god bless

Leave a Reply

