The Real Problem of Tiny Living

I’ve been living in my 320 sf since the beginning of July, and now cooler weather has come. I’m sealing the leaks and stopping the drafts that come with rushing through a remodeling process that I wasn’t completely comfortable with. And coming to see the real difficulty with living small… there isn’t enough to do! Yes, in those long months when it’s too cold outside and too dark too early, what does a person do in 320 sf in the country? Within the next weeks my lifestyle is going to have to be readjusted to finding activities in the town I work in and finding new hobbies, not because it’s chilly in the house (I still turn off the heater during the day) or because I don’t like the house (though I still hope to build on my land or buy something small closer to town), but because once the organization and the decorating are done… well, they’re done. There’s just nothing to keep up on, no projects pending, nothing more to clean or decorate or do. I’m already considering decorating for Christmas. That’s never happened before, especially not in a big house!

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on November 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love your project! My name is Whitney, I am completing a Certificate at Yestermomrrow Design Build school in Warren, VT. For my project I am researching the availability of homeowners insurance for tiny homes. If you own a tiny home please take a few moments to fill out this survey. Thank you for your time! https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DXXW3X3

  2. It’s been six months since your last post…
    I was reading your blog entries as a way to pass the time during my ten minute breaks here at work, taking notes on the ideas that you shared… now that I have read every entry, I find myself longing for more… did you survive the winter? it’s nearing summer time, how is your garden?

Leave a Reply

