Floor temps and random thoughts

The first cold nights have arrived. Not freezing yet, but definitely cool. And I haven’t finished skirting the cabin. So the floor is cold, right? Not really. It would be in the winter, I’m sure. But right now, with just one side skirted (and no harsh winds to push the cold air under) in the middle of the house the floor is warm, but toward the edges it gets noticeably cooler with each step.

I’m still debating whether to buy something closer to work or build a permanent house next summer. It’s very difficult to decide. There’s a 900 sf, no basement, storage area included in the footage, house 6 miles from work and a couple in town. There’s also another about 6 miles from work that seems like it would be easy to make into a house with an apartment. I could rent part of the space… I doubt I would though.

I love the land. The house isn’t laid out right though, which is a huge problem. So is the fact that I’m trying to work on it and live in it at the same time. I want more cabinets. I want 6′ of closet space. And I want a real bedroom, not a place for a bed-which is something I’m amazed I miss at all.

I’m glad I opted for something temporary for awhile. It’s taught me a lot about myself and what I really want. I love the land. The location is terrific except for the commute to work. It’s cost more to do everything than I’d hoped, and taken longer because I got hurt a few times. And I still contend that I don’t have the skills to build and decorate like most tiny house people. I also have, sadly, way too much stuff for a tiny life even after downsizing so drastically.

Even if living small turns out to be a short term thing, I think it will have benefited me significantly. I’ve learned a lot about myself and some things about others. My views and habits on accumulating have changed quite a bit. I’ve known I’d prefer to live in the country, but I didn’t realize just how much more relaxed I’d be as a result. I’ve also learned that all the creative storage I’ve seen in furniture doesn’t work for me in real life. I’d rather have the extra closets than a bench with cushions on top for a couch, and would rather have my bed at the regular level and not get on my knees to find my socks in a drawer under it.

Although I like my little house, I think I’d build something about 100-200 sf larger… for a total of 400-550 sf. Enough larger for a bathtub and a bedroom and a few more cabinets in the kitchen, but still small enough to be cozy and efficient.

So, living small has been fun, but 300 sf seems a bit too small for me. I feel like I’m camping, not settled, and for me that leaves me a bit on edge and makes me feel disorganized. Hopefully next summer I’ll either have a 700 sf house in town or a 400-550 sf house on my land. In the meantime, I’ll organize the space as best I can, watch for the right opportunity of a house or land for sale nearer to work, dream, plan, and consider. And maybe me and the little house will learn to like each other better, or maybe we’ll part ways sooner or later. Either way, I’ll be the wiser for it. The little house has taught me a lot, and I expect it’s still got a few more lessons in store.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on October 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

