Cabin Fever

I’m going home for awhile to work on the cabin soon. The closer I get to being on my own land in my own cabin again the harder it is to focus on anything else. I’m taking plants to start permaculture landscaping-some tulips I found deeply discounted at a florist, paperwhites that arrived at my rental by surprise, larkspur, and strawberries. There is Russian sage and thyme waiting at my parents’ house for transplant, too.

The paperwhites were funny. I was walking one night and someone had thrown a bunch (as in about half a shopping bag full) on the curb and into the street. Thinking they must be wild onions, I collected them, took them back to my rental, and tucked them in the dirt along side the house since some were pretty small. Soon, there were odd bulbous shapes sticking up. I thought those were strange onions. Then they started blooming. Paperwhites! I would have been happy for the onions, but I’m thrilled to have the paperwhites. And it appears that most of them will survive.

I love flower bulbs.

I’m looking forward to other things in the yard, too, in seeing my garage for the first time in person, and in working on the interior of my small house. Not much longer!!!

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on May 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

