I am Rich

I was thrilled to talk to someone today who is facing what I did a year ago. She said how difficult it is to get rid of things… she might need that someday, it’s overwhelming to know where to start, this has memories… it all reminded me of where I was last year. She feels overwhelmed by the stuff, but also by the thought of getting rid of it.

It’s not as difficult as it seems to get rid of things after you find what works for you. And getting rid of things can be addicting. I think back now to the happiest times in my life and realize they are also the times I had the least. Not only long distant memories, but more recent ones, as well. It’s hard to see going into it what decluttering and simplifying will actually do for you.

As I talked to her I realized once again that I am rich. I first told her that in response to her fear that she would get rid of something she would need someday. I told her about my concern that would happen, about how I lost a spatula, shrugged, and said I’d just buy a new one. It was a $1.50 item (and I found my old one before I even bought one) but it was the first time in my life I hadn’t at least slightly panicked that I didn’t have an extra of whatever sitting around. Worrying about every dime I spent made me feel poor. Realizing I didn’t have to worry made me feel wealthy.

There have been little things like that all year that have made me realize how rich I really am. Seeing someone’s face light up when they see me donate an item they have wanted (that I had 2-3 of) that they couldn’t afford. Seeing a sweater I wanted and trying to decide what I’d get rid of if I bought it… and discovering there was nothing I wanted rid of, that I was quite happy with what I already had. Just the concept of the overwhelming abundance I was faced with getting rid of. And still there are moments when I’m shocked, like I was today, to realize that no matter what I own or don’t own, I truly am rich.

My financial status hasn’t really changed that much, but my mindset has completely turned. I have more than enough, and even too much. Even after getting rid of more than 2000 pounds of stuff. And so this year I’ll be packing more donation boxes, giving a few more things away, and rejoicing in a wealth that goes beyond stuff. I truly am rich.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on January 6, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

