Deprived or Fulfilled?

“You don’t have a stove? I could never…!” someone recently responded to my statement. No, I don’t have a stove. No, not everyone would want to relinquish that item. For me it has been freeing. Yes, I cook. And I enjoy it immensely more now that I don’t have a stove and oven to clean.

It’s the difference of perspective that makes me feel fulfilled and someone else deprived if there is no stove or less floor space. Honestly, I’ve reacted in much the same way when others mentioned things they did without… things like extra dishes (only one cup?!?! What about company?) or only three pairs of shoes (I need work boots, dress boots, work shoes, dress shoes, business shoes, and comfy shoes because of a variety of diverse activities) or a sawdust toilet (ewww!). Thankfully, one thing I’ve noticed about the small house movement, the green movement, the simplistic movement, and the eco-friendly movements is that they all tend to accept and even respect others’ different perspectives. As a result, we learn from each other and glean some ideas we can incorporate into our own lifestyles.

Those I’ve talked to about my stovelessness have often gotten a far away look for a moment and then admitted they only use two burners usually, or that crockpots are their favorite cooking appliances. Those who wouldn’t dream of living in 300 square feet have admitted that they could do with less… less stuff and less space. And in listening to them, I’ve admitted that I could waste less, recycle more, use more green energy, and live more simply even in a larger space.

Admittedly, one of the best benefits of living smaller for me has been learning to eat better. Less plastic and single serving containers. (They take up space). More fresh fruits and vegetables. More whole grains. (They don’t have to be refridgerated.) I didn’t get involved in the small house movement to learn how to eat, but a little more simplicity here, a little less space in the fridge, a few comments about plastics, and I decided to try different food choices. How surprising to find I enjoyed fresh foods more, and that they took only minutes longer to prepare!

What have you learned from others’ perspectives in the small house or similar movements?

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on January 3, 2013, in Living large... small. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

