More Donations

I downsized once. Now I’m downsizing again. Not much, not as radically, but still reducing more. Some things are slated for my family-actually most things at this point. Pressure cookers, for instance, that they will use for canning. (Since I don’t have a stove, we will share that adventure, with me doing more of the preparation work and them doing the final canning process, although I do have an electric pressure cooker for minor canning needs.)

I suppose I’ve been downsizing all summer and into the winter, really. I haven’t bought more than a can or two of food for months because I’m eating down what I had hoarded away-which has also had a lovely affect on my food bills. My grocery average is less than $50/month.

Today it was clothes yet again. I’ve stuck to my pattern of getting rid of something if I buy something, but since I’d cleaned house in the summer and wasn’t sure what I’d be wearing through the winter yet, I kept more than I should have. At this point in the winter I know what I will and won’t be wearing, and so more things had to go. There are still more clothes in this house than any one person should own, but since some are business clothes, some are chore clothes, and some are weekend clothes, some are winter and some are summer, I’d say the six drawers and a 3′ closet isn’t a bad number… especially considering that less than a year ago I had over 16′ of closet space full plus 10 drawers (at least).

The downsize has been incredible. I love having less stuff, and look forward to moving into something smaller and reducing even more. Out of all of it, I’ve still only missed maybe four things. Very fleetingly.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Living large... small. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

