KwH energy

I just read that the average household uses 958 KwH of electricity a month. In November I used 50. And yes, I double checked, that was for the month. I’m not really sure how I’d use 500, much less nearly 1000. No wonder when I converted to the new curly bulbs it didn’t affect my bill.

That usage hasn’t changed terribly much from when I was living in a larger space. It’s kind of hard to know exactly why, but I have a few guesses:
I don’t generally use the oven.
I live alone (so I control what lights are on or off).
I don’t watch much TV or many videos (though I do spend a lot of time on the computer).
I can only find six outlets in my house, and that doesn’t really bother me.
I don’t run the air conditioner unless the temperature is over 85-90, and then normally just to cool the house off. I don’t run it all night hardly ever.
I don’t own a dryer… although I would like to some of these days. But when I do, since I only wash 2-3 loads a week, there isn’t that much drying time. And when I move, I want a clothesline more than a dryer.

I’m not as old as I’ll sound with what I’m about confess, but my parents never owned a microwave until I’d graduated college. We never had cable or a VCR. And the thing is, because I never had them, I never really missed them. I didn’t own a TV until I was almost 40. There just didn’t seem to be a need. Even now, the set I have is used only to play old VHS tapes. I watch DVDs on my computer. And lights… other people’s houses seem way too bright at night. When I wind down it’s with candlelight or 40-60 watts.

Want to know a secret? I don’t miss a single KwH I’m not using.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Living large... small. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

