Possibilities

So what do I want a small house to look like? I’m having difficulty fitting everything like I want it. There is an 18×20 I think would work well. But with a 12′ width, things get a bit… crowded.

I want a washer, even if I don’t have a dryer. I want a wall of the living room to be bifold doors, with enough space behind for storage. But I’m not sure I want full sized doors, then, or half sized. If they were cut in half and hung in two sections, it would be easier to access the things behind the top cabinets. On the other hand, with built in furniture, I’m not sure the cabinets would be wise at all, though they would be cost effective and energy efficient (air pocket between the room and the great outdoors). But they would also cut down on windows, which are a must for me.

If I make the portable building home for any amount of time, I want to replace the roof. It’s low. I would like to raise it’s peak and put in a small loft or high shelves for additional storage. The roof could continue off the side of the building into a large covered deck. This space would be wonderful in milder weather but wouldn’t need to be heated in winter. It would also make a perfect place for a Panamanian hammock, which is a much more comfortable and cooler sleeping arrangement in summer than air conditioning. As long as there aren’t mosquitoes around, at least.

The 12′ side is currently the front of the portable building, but if it were my permanent home, I’d prefer it to be the side. With the deck on the front and the roof overhang, a screened porch with french doors into the main house would be ideal… except that french doors take a lot of room in a small house. I’m sure there’s an answer; I just haven’t figured it out yet.  

Everything else would fit in the house except the washer. I’m almost beginning to think a wringer washer on the back deck might be in order. Just kidding, but I have thought about whether I could put the washer in the garage or a shed of it’s own. Keeping the pipes from freezing there in the winter would be nearly impossible, though, and the extra pipes and drains wouldn’t be cost efficient either. Yet a 2.0 cubic foot washer won’t work… that’s just a pair or two of jeans.

I suspect that at least for awhile I’ll be utilizing the local laundromat. Not ideal, but a relatively small price to pay. Maybe in time I’ll find a better solution.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on December 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

