Land Purchase: complete

The paperwork is finished. I have land.

Nervous? Sure. I wonder if I’m too far from the city, if I’ll find a job there, if it will be too much work, whether I want a house or just my portable cabin, if there are any hidden regulations, how much this project will cost.

Happy? Yes! I think about chickens and a huge garden and ways to live semi-off-grid. I remember that this house will be exactly what I want and should be low maintenance even into my 80s or 90s.  My retirement home, my way of retiring early-not in order to quit working but in order to do the work I want instead of what I have to in order to make ends meet. I’m thrilled to be closer to family, to know that my Dad and I can work together on this project and maybe regain some of the distance I’ve felt growing between us as I matured and he aged, to think of the extra time I’ll be able to spend with nieces and nephews, of the things they can learn on two acres that they wouldn’t learn in the city. And the things I will learn the same way.

And so I’m slightly off balance, slightly nervous but happy as well. It should be a good purchase even if I need to sell later. The land and septic should be worth nearly twice what I paid. I woke up thinking about it and realizing that the half-burned house that’s there won’t be salvageable-the water would have dripped or poured into the place where the roof burned, dripping down the rafters and down into the walls, even  the walls furthest from the burns at this point. That was a sad realization. At the same time, the foundation may still be salvageable, at least in part. I need to go out with a foundation expert to discuss that possibility. And I may need to removed the burned building first, before anything can be decided on the foundation.

I want to be there to see what’s happening, to grab a shovel and a hammer and get to work, to discover what I can save and to remove what I can’t. Not being able to do that is frustrating, but I need to finish this job before I move out there. Besides, at this point they’ve had nearly two inches of rain. It’s not like I can do much at this point anyway. I’ll have to wait a month or two, it seems, and see.

 

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Makes me wonder if it’s not the half-burned house on Hwy 76 right before Y Hwy between Cape Fair and Branson West. Wherever it is, I wish you good times.

Leave a Reply

