Hording Myth: #2

But I might need that someday!

The concept is that we need to keep an extra around, just in case. If one breaks, we’ll have another. If one wears out we’ll save money by already having the extra to replace it.

Sure things wear out. But does having a spare really save money? Most of the time, if I break something, I can’t remember where the spare is. Sometimes, I can’t remember I have a spare and buy a spare-spare because it’s on sale. While I was downsizing, I found about 3-4 cheese cutters and 5-6 veggie peelers. I could buy a replacement for less than $5. Why did I have the extras, especially the broken ones?

Mom for years kept an extra iron. She’d gotten two as wedding presents, and she thought when one burned out she’d have another. If she ironed, it might have been different. But she got the spare out only after she’d been married over 35 years. Irons change in 35 years. For the better. Did keeping the spare really save anything?

I have a drill I bought as a spare. It was at a yard sale for $1. Great deal, right? The drill has to be older than I am. For a drill, that’s pretty old.

There are a lot of things that we save for later. Old pictures that never get labeled or put in scrap books. From the days of Polaroid and 110 film. Undeveloped. Voice of experience, yes. Books that can easily be gotten at any library. Towels and sheets that will go out of style long before they’re used. Yards and yards of fabric that will rot before it’s cut. It’s nice to save up for the future, but only to a point. I suspect I’ve spent more money buying spares than I ever would have spent just purchasing what I need. And I would have been happier doing it.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on August 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

