A Brand New Lifestyle

No, still no small house, but something very interesting happened today.

First a confession. I do NOT like doing dishes. At all. To the point that my kitchen could sometimes be declared a health hazard. I’ll do some of the easy dishes, but for some reason, silverware piles in the bottom of the sink until there’s nothing left to eat with.

Last night I opened my silverware drawer and realized there was no clean silverware left. *sigh* Time to wash them again already?!?! There were a couple things in the sink on top of “all that silverware” so I started washing. When I lifted the two dishes out, I realized there were only a couple forks and spoons to wash! I was surprised for a second–the kind of surprised disorientation you feel when you wake up in a different place than you generally sleep. And then I realized there weren’t a lot of dishes because I’d given the majority away. Doing the dishes, a task that normally takes a few hours, took about 20 minutes today.

I hadn’t realized before that in giving away things I really didn’t need, I’d also be giving away my most dreaded household chore. Too bad I can’t give away the toilet!

~~~

The funniest thing is, while I’m in this transition, I’ve been staying in a 3,000 square foot home. Just borrowing it. It’s Dad’s dream. It’s many people’s dream I’m sure. But I hate it. I feel like I have to walk a mile to the bathroom, but even worse, I offered to clean in exchange for staying there (it’s for sale and vacant except when I sleep there). The first time I did the floors, I started to get on my hands and knees and mop like I normally do in my own house, and realized that was impossible with such a big house. So I sweep, but there is still dirt.

I looked at the floorplan and realized that a family of 6 could live under that one roof and still be total strangers. I’ve heard a lot of things blamed for today’s change of family structure. But in the last 50-70 years, house size has nearly doubled while family size has decreased. Not only that, but floor plans stopped emphasizing “together” space such as kitchens and living rooms and instead emphasizes “private” space. A bedroom for every child. A master bedroom on the other side of the house. It took me less time to walk to my parents’ room as a child than it does simply to cross one room in this house.

Don’t misunderstand. I love my private space. I often wished for my own room, since I grew up sharing a bedroom with my sister (in an approximately 800 sq ft house with a less than functional basement). Still, I have to wonder if maybe, just perhaps, there’s a bit too much emphasis on space in today’s culture… and if, with that emphasis, we’re missing some things that are much more important.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on April 7, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

