Workshop

My order is confirmed; I’ll be attending a tiny house workshop! In the meantime, I may start building my small house. I’m nervous about purchasing the land though. Do I build in town? I’m a country girl, but if I build in town I can walk to work. I wouldn’t have to drive, and car insurance would be cheaper. House insurance and taxes may be too, but land is cheaper in some of the smaller communities in the area. I really don’t want to invest $45,000 in a small house, but that’s my first estimate based on land, utility installation, a guestimate on the cost of the shell, and the finish work. That’s scary. What if I need to move? Will someone want it? Could I rent it out? If I rent it will someone abuse it?

Would it be more responsible to buy a larger house that’s on the market? It might, but I’m not sure. And I’m not sure I care. Or could I find a vacant lot in an area where land is a high commodity? There seems to be one lot available at a very good price. If so I could build for $35,000 or less including the land. That seems more doable. Tomorrow morning by 9:00 I will be there finding out.

About Missouri Mary

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. There are around 70 species of plants in my yard. I have a good job, a sturdy house, and two cats. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course.

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! How cool! Have fun at the workshop. Is it the Tumbleweed one in Kansas City? I’m so curious what town you live in, but I understand if you don’t feel like sharing publicly. If you don’t mind sharing privately, I can be reached at wheresvictoria@yahoo.com.

Leave a comment