Location and concept frustrations

I’m looking for land to build my small house on. Realtors don’t seem to understand why a small house would be a good idea. City codes are more cooperative, in the locations I’m considering, than realtors, actually.

I’m also a bit stressed about finding a place to live while building my small house. I do NOT like apartments or neighbors surrounding me. I was hoping to find a structure that could be recreated while I lived on the property, but that hasn’t happened yet. My frustration level has built over the course of the day, hearing about one house after the other that might be the right size and on the market… only to find out that  they are bigger than I was told or that they’ve already sold. And the lot I fell in love with is 36 miles from work. That’s just not practical. I’d be saving $400-800 on property taxes but spending $1700/yr on gas! And yet… this little town has a billboard advertising FREE lots. Another little town has a development going in… and the realtor is going to discuss with the owner the possibility of making a SMALL HOUSE COMMUNITY out of it, if they can gather enough interest. It would be completely on grid, and the lots are smaller, but the concept still has potential.

I’m amazed. Realtors are not where I thought I would run into trouble. Code departments in that area (SE KS) seem very accommodating though, so far. Maybe that’s partly because they’ve seen the possibilities work. On the outskirts of the town where I’ll be working, there is a yurt and a tiny house that is ancient. I need to take pictures next time I’m there.

Later:

Hmmm…. just discovered a property less than 10 miles from work. More than two acres. Right price. Yurt just down the road. (Meaning the city will probably be accepting of “nontraditional” structures.) Why did none of the realtors mention THAT one? I hope it’s still for sale Monday. If it is… it probably won’t be anymore! I’d be willing to make the 90 mile drive back to sign paperwork and hand them a check right then, I think.

 

Later yet:

Grrr… again, it’s a property the realtor “forgot to take down.” It isn’t for sale anymore, and hasn’t been for awhile. I’m checking into 3.5 acres; it’s pricey too (pricier than the other one) but it still might be worth checking on because it may be within biking distance of work, and it’s rural. Lots in the city are scarce, and most even with houses on them are 5000 sq ft or less. There’s also a house for sale 30 miles away that was built in 2001 and is only 488 sq ft. The asking price on that one is $7500. I don’t want to drive that far to work, but if I could do it for awhile and then move I’d consider it. There is a lot 36 miles away for $2000 I’m still considering too.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

