Getting there

Two bags of fabric gone this morning (one 10 gal and one walmart bag), another ten gallon bag filled with clothes…

I am now down to right at 80 hangars! That may still seem like a lot, and I agree that it is. But that’s down from over 210–I now have on 38% of the clothes I started this journey with, and that excludes the folded clothes (four drawers, two cabinets, and a large suitcase) and those I never seemed to have enough hangars for.

The more I get rid of, the more I want to get rid of.

Today I did the kitchen drawers. Why does one person need 20 forks? I now have:
four place settings of silverware
four glass glasses
four plastic glasses
two spatulas (yes, I really did have 6-7)
three wooden spoons (I forgot I had any)
two dippers
two plastic spoons…

And even as I’m typing I’m wondering what I’m thinking to keep those. ..

That’s better. Another spatula in the trash (it wasn’t worth keeping-ick!) and another spatula and a spoon in the donation pile. Yes, I need to get rid of more. But if I get rid of too much at once, I might start to feel deprived, and that would be counteractive. I want to prove to myself I can live without it before I get rid of all of it.

Everything I get rid of makes me a little more excited at this point. Tonight it’s cards and wedding stuff from the wedding that never was. And hopefully at least one more bag full of something… clothes or fabric or shoes, I don’t really care. Just something. Maybe a quilt, some afghans, a quilt rack…

On my hit list still is:
more fabric
folded shirts
pots and pans
queen sized mattress
extra light fixture covers

People are beginning to look at me strangely. I don’t need the money; I just don’t need the stress.

*later: I have two big boxes and a 10 gallon bag ready to go. I think I’m going to have to divide it between thrift stores so I don’t overwhelm anyone.  Got rid of almost all the cards and wedding stuff. Yeah! The really nice thing is that a neighbor’s house just sold, and there are a lot of nice empty boxes in their trash right now. So I’m just running over and getting what I need, which makes less for the landfill and less gas to find boxes fore me.

*even later: I got another box filled to overflowing. Hopefully the overflow and a little extra will fill another box before donation time tomorrow. The poor volunteers at the local thrift stores! I have enough stuff to provide for several households, right down to the five vacuums. Hmmm… and that’s another thing I need to get rid of.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on February 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

