The ‘What Ifs’

When I talk about downsizing, I get people’s attention, but not usually in a good way. There seem to be two big statements behind the “are you crazy?!?!” looks: “But I LIKE my stuff!” and “But I NEED my space!”

Stuff is nice. It’s wonderful. It’s… secure. It’s there if I ever need it. And it’s popular. But I don’t like it well enough to drown in it. by the time I’d use it I will have either lost it or it will be out of date, out of style, or rotted. It would really be more reasonable to rent a storage shed for the stuff than to pay for a house to store it in, if I must keep it. But why pay for a storage shed I’ll lock and never go visit? And if I wouldn’t visit the stuff if it was locked in storage, why would I want to live with it every day?

I don’t need space. Quite the contrary. I want outdoors space, but indoors is a place to sleep and eat, not a place I want to spend all my time-cleaning, decorating, reorganizing, or filling. Someone tonight told me they needed more space so that if their kids came… and if they wanted to entertain… The “what ifs.” If I want to entertain, I’ll entertain outdoors, at a restaurant, or all in a small house. I’ve never entertained in more than one room of a house before, so I certainly don’t need space dedicated to entertaining now. And if people come to visit from out of town… well, let’s see. If I’m paying for utilities, maintenance, taxes and insurance (“hidden fees”) on the space to put them if they come, why not just save the money and give them a hotel suite if they come instead? They’d probably be happy for the privacy, as would I, and even at $150/night they’d have to stay a long time to cost what I now pay in “hidden fees” for a space they never come and occupy.

So “what if…?” What if I miss something I’ve given away? What if someone comes to town (a rare event for me)? I’ll work with those things if and when they happen. But what if I don’t need to spend the time cleaning and maintaining and storing and hoarding? What if less things means more time, more money, and more energy? For me, it’s well worth the risk.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

